About Us

Welcome to the Santa Clarita Valley (CA) Branch of AAUW



The Santa Clarita Valley Branch of AAUW was organized on July 22, 1968 – almost 20 years before Santa Clarita became a city. Initially, 40 vibrant, dynamic women joined and today the membership has more than doubled, with seven Charter Members still active. The Santa Clarita Valley is located 35 miles northwest of downtown Los Angeles and includes the communities of Valencia, Newhall, Stevenson Ranch, Canyon Country, Castaic, Saugus, Agua Dulce, Acton and Val Verde.

To Contact Us, Click here: SCV AAUW Branch


Throughout the years, the SCV AAUW branch has contributed significantly to the community and to women’s causes by –

  • Partnering with the College of the Canyons (COC), to initiate the Women’s Conference, College Night and Career Day
  • Funding up to 24 girls in the 7th grade for a one-week residential math, science, and technology summer camp
    on a California university campus.
  • Sponsoring political “Candidates’ Discussion” nights
  • Contributing to the establishment of the local Food Pantry
  • Nurturing the docent program at the Placerita Nature Center
  • Encouraging higher education for women by awarding scholarships to College of the Canyons
  • Producing an educational outreach program for elementary, middle and high school students, “Women In History,” to teach children in the SCV about women’s’ valuable contribution to history and culture.


SCV AAUW members begin the year in September with a Membership Brunch, followed by Program meetings in October, November, January and February. December’s activities include a Holiday Gathering, the March project is a fundraising event for the AAUW/College of the Canyons MESA scholarship, and the April ventures highlight the Women In History presentation and the Tech Trek awards. In May, the branch celebrates the Installation of new officers and in August, AAUW celebrates the return of the Tech Trek campers with an End of the Year Party.

Introducing Santa Clarita AAUW
By-laws of AAUW-SCV
Standing Rules
Visit us on FaceBook

President – Marianne Bakic
President-Elect – Diane Millikin
First VP Programs – Barbara Oliver, Betsy Swallow
Second VP Membership –  Roberta Kessler
Treasurer – Lynda McClellan
AAUW Funds – Val Jones
Recording Secretary – Lorraine Bowman
Public Policy – Denise Grzesiak

Auditors – Diane Bartley, MJ West
By-Laws/Parliamentarian – Diane Bartley
Corresponding Secretary – Rose Drye
Hospitality – Tami Reyna
Newsletter – Nancy Heinisch
Publicity – Sonya Wendt
Social Media – Kelly Burke
Telecommunications – Linda Metz
Internal Communications – Louise Schulz
Webmaster – Betty Kelly
Yearbook Editor – Louise Schultz
Historian – Open

MESA/STEM – Kelly Burke
Bucks for Books – Kelly Burke
COC Student Relations – Robin Clough
MESA Advisory Board – Rebecca Corona-Nickerson
Women’s Conference – Rebecca Corona-Nickerson
Humanities – Barbara Oliver, Ruthie Smith
COC Student Affiliate – Tonya Beatty
Tech Trek – Diane Bartley
Schools Liaison – Ginny Gregor
Book Lovers Luncheon – Diane Bartley, Diane Millikin
STEM Stars – Tech Trek Moms, Diane Bartley
Women in History – Debbie McIntosh, Louise Willard

To Contact Us, Click here: SCV AAUW Branch
For more information about AAUW California and Tech Trek, go to www.aauw-ca.org